Download PDF
of this course

Cisco 7600 Series Essentials (7600)

  • Overview
  • Who Should Attend
  • Certifications
  • Prerequisites
  • Objectives
  • Content
  • Schedule
Course Overview

Course Duration: 5 Days.
Cisco 7600 Series Essentials - This course provides you with the information required to optimally deploy a network of Cisco® 7600 Series Routers. You will learn the primary points of the system architecture and features so you can use the correct features for your network. Hands-on lab sessions enable you to practice the skills needed to deploy a Cisco 7600 Series Router. You will learn to apply quality of service (QoS) techniques, deploy Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) Layer 3 VPNs in addition to Layer 2 Ethernet over MPLS (EoMPLS) and Virtual Private LAN Services (VPLS) VPNs, and utilize Stateful Switchover (SSO) and Nonstop Forwarding (NSF). You will also explore Cisco 7600 Series packet-forwarding techniques and the supported Cisco supervisor engines, route switch processors, line cards, shared port adapters (SPAs), and SPA interface processors (SIPs) to help improve the system’s performance. You will gain the knowledge and skills to use the high-availability features of the Cisco 7600 Series to make sure your network benefits the most.

Who Should Attend

  • This course is intended for network professionals who implement and support large enterprises or service providers that have a need to deploy and maintain Cisco 7600 Series Routers.


Course Certifications

This course is part of the following Certifications:


  • Experience using Cisco IOS® Software for configuration of IP, MPLS VPN, Metro Ethernet,Open Shortest Path First (OSPF), Border Gateway Protocol (BGP), and Intermediate System-to-Intermediate System (IS-IS) 
  • Basic understanding of QoS operations

Course Objectives

Upon completion of this course, you should be able to perform the following tasks: 
  • Describe the power management features of Cisco 7600 Series Routers 
  • Configure the high-availability features of the Cisco 7600 Series: SSO and NSF 
  • Characterize the architecture of the Cisco Series Supervisor Engine 720, Route Switch Processor 720, and Cisco Supervisor Engine 32, including the forwarding engine and switch fabric 
  • Describe the packet flow in the Cisco 7600 Series for unicast and multicast 
  • Deploy software resiliency features 
  • Implement QoS features on Cisco Catalyst LAN ports, WAN ports, FlexWAN ports, ES20 ports, ES+ ports, and SIP/SPA ports
  • Deploy Layer 3 MPLS VPNs on the Cisco 7600 Series 
  • Describe MPLS QoS differentiated service modes in the Cisco 7600 Series
  • Deploy basic Layer 2 EoMPLS and VPLS VPNs on the Cisco 7600 Series
  • Describe packet flow and packet recirculation 
  • Characterize the line-card architecture of the Cisco 7600 Series 
  • Identify different switching modes in the Cisco 7600 Series
  • Learn about the available methods to protect the Supervisor Engine 720 and RSP 720 Engine from denial of service attack

Course Content

Module 1: Cisco 7600 Series Router System Overview
  • Router Functions 
  • Chassis Configurations
  • Router Interface Breadth 
  • System Images 
Module 2: Cisco 7600 Series Router Hardware Overview 
  • Chassis Components
  • Supervisor Engine 720, Route Switch Processor 720, and Supervisor 32 Overview 
  • Monitoring Traffic 
  • Line-Card Architectures, Including ES20 and ES+ Line Cards
  • SPA Interface Processors 
Module 3: Detailed Supervisor Engine Architecture
  • Supervisor Engine 720, Route Switch Processor 720 and Supervisor Engine 32 
  • Hardware and Architecture 
  • Forwarding Architecture, plus Bus Switching Modes and the Router Boot Process
Module 4: Packet Flows in the Cisco 7600 Series 
  • Unicast and Multicast Packet Forwarding 
  • Forwarding Decision Process
  • Control Plane Forwarding, Policing, and Rate Limiting
Module 5: High Availability 
  • Redundancy and High-Availability Features 
  • SSO and Nonstop Forwarding Operation
  • Cisco 7600 Series Software Resiliency Features, with Fast Fabric Sync, eFSU, and ISSU
Module 6: Cisco 7600 Series Router QoS
  • QoS Architecture, Command Sets, plus Fucntions and Concepts
  • Traffic Prioritzation, and QoS Modes 
  • Output Policies plus Policing and Marking
Module 7: MPLS on Cisco 7600 Series Routers
  • MPLS Functionality, Packet Processing and Packet Recirculation 
  • MPLS QoS Differentiated Service Modes 
Module 8: Layer 2 EoMPLS and VPLS VPNs on Cisco 7600 Series Routers
  • EoMPLS and VPLS Definition, Fuctionality and Components
  • onfiguration Basics for EoMPLS and VPLS, plus Cisco 7600 Series specific options
  • Layer 2 and Layer 3 VPN Comparison

Course ID: 7600

Show Schedule for 1 Month  3 Months  All 
Date Country Location Register