Download PDF
of this course

MS55011 - The ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management (MS55011)

  • Overview
  • Who Should Attend
  • Certifications
  • Prerequisites
  • Objectives
  • Content
  • Schedule
Course Overview

Duration: 3 Days

This 3-day (19 contact hour) instructor-led course provides students with the knowledge of ITIL terminology, structure and basic concepts and comprehension of core principles of ITIL practices for service management required to sit for the for ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management certification examination. Candidates for the ITIL Foundation certificate in IT service management have to complete all units and successfully pass the corresponding examination to achieve certification. The ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is not intended to enable the holders of the certificate to apply the ITIL practices for service management without further guidance.

Upon completion of the course, candidates may sit the optional ITIL Foundation examination leading to the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management. Sixty (60) minutes (75 minutes and the use of a dictionary for those taking the examination in a language other than their first language) is allowed for the closed-book, supervised examination which may be online or paper-based. The examination is a multiple choice format that consists of forty (40) questions.

Who Should Attend

The target group of the ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is drawn from:

  • Individuals who require a basic understanding of the ITIL framework and how it may be used to enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization.

  • IT professionals that are working within an organization that has adopted and adapted ITIL who need to be informed about and thereafter contribute to an ongoing service improvement program.

This may include but is not limited to, IT professionals, business managers and business process owners.

Course Certifications

This course is part of the following Certifications:


Course Objectives

After successful completion of the education and examination components related to this certification, students can expect to gain knowledge and understanding in the following:

  • Service management as a practice (comprehension)

  • The ITIL service lifecycle (comprehension)

  • Generic concepts and definitions (awareness)

  • Key principles and models (comprehension)

  • Selected processes (awareness)

  • Selected functions (awareness)

  • Selected roles (awareness)

  • Technology and architecture (awareness)

  • Competence and training (awareness)

Course Content

Module 1: IntroductionModule 1 includes Service Management as a Practice, Key Roles, Competence and Training describes the concepts of Good Practice, Services, and Service Management.  It also defines Processes, Functions, and the concepts of a Process Model. It includes coverage of key roles in service management and competence and training (150m; 90 for service management as a practice; 45 for key roles in service management; 15m for competence and training).

After completing this module, students will be able to:
  • Describe the concept of best practices in the public domain (SS 2.1.7)
  • Describe and explain why ITIL is successful (SS 1.4)
  • Define and explain the concepts of:
    • Service (SS 2.2.1)
    • Internal and external customers (SS
    • Internal and external services (SS
    • Service management (SS 2.1.2)
    • IT service management (SS 2.1.3)
    • Stakeholders in service management (SS 2.1.5)
  • Define Functions and Processes (SS 2.2.2,
  • Explain the process model, characteristics of processes (SD 2.2.2, Fig. 2.5)
  • Account for the role and the responsibilities of the:
    • Process owner (SD 6.3.2)
    • Process manager (SD 6.3.3)
    • Process practitioner (SD 6.3.4)
    • Service owner (SD 6.3.1)
  • Recognize the responsible, accountable, consulted, informed (RACI) responsibility model and explain its role in determining organizational structure (SD, tab 3.2, not RACI-VS or RASCI)
  • Give an overview of:
    • Competence and skills for service management (SD 6.5.1)
    • Competence and skills framework (SD 6.5.2)
    • Training (SD 6.5.3)

Module 2: The ITIL Service LifecycleModule 2 covers the structure, scope, components, and interfaces of the Service Lifecycle and outlines the goals, objectives, and value of the five lifecycle phases (60m).

After completing this module, students will be able to:
  • Describe the structure of the ITIL service lifecycle (SS 1.2, Fig. 1.1)
  • Account for the purpose, objectives, and scope of:
    • Service Strategy (SS 1.1.1, 1.1.2)
    • Service Design (SD 1.1.1, 1.1.2)
    • Service Transition (ST 1.1.1, 1.1.2)
    • Service Operation (SO 1.1.1, 1.1.2)
    • Continual Service Improvement (CSI 1.1.1, 1.1.2)
  • Briefly explain the value the lifecycle phases provide to the business:
    • Service Strategy (SS 1.1.4)
    • Service Design (SD 1.1.4)
    • Service Transition (ST 1.1.4)
    • Service Operation (SO 1.1.4)
    • Continual Service Improvement (CSI 1.1.4)

Module 3: Service StrategyModule 3 covers Service Strategy (110m; 85m forprocess, generic conceptsand definitions; 25m for key principles and models).

After completing this module, students will be able to:
  • State the purpose, objectives and scope for:
  • Service Portfolio Management (SS 4.2.1, 4.2.2)
  • The Service Portfolio (SS, Fig. 4.14)
  • Financial Management for IT services (SS 4.3.1, 4.3.2)
  • Business case (SS
  • Business Relationship Management (SS 4.5.1, 4.5.2, Tab 4.10)
  • Define and explain Service Strategy generic concepts and definitions:
    • 03-1. Utility and warranty (SS 2.1.6 )
    • 03-39. Outcomes (SS 2.1.1)
    • 03-8. Service provider (SS 2.1.4)
    • 03-41. Customers and users (SS 2.1.5)
    • 03-10. Supplier (SS 2.1.5)
    • 03-2. Assets, resources, capabilities (SS 2.2.1)
    • 03-5. Governance (SS 2.3.1)
    • 03-36. Define and explain Types of services (SS, Tab 3.5)
    • 03-6. Business case (SS
    • 03-3. Service portfolio (SS, Fig. 4.14)
    • 03-40. Patterns of business activity (SS
    • 03-7. Risk management (SS,
  • Define and explain Service Strategy key principles and models
  • Describe value creation through services (SS 3.2.3,, Fig 3.6, Fig. 3.7, not section on “Marketing mindset”)
  • Explain how service automation assists with expediting service management processes (SS 7.1)

Module 4: Service Design

Module 4 covers Service Design (270m; 240 for process, generic concepts and definitions, technology and architecture; 30 for key principles, models).
After completing this module, students will be able to:
  • Explain the purpose, objectives, scope, basic concepts, process activities and interfaces for Service level Management (SLM) (SD 4.3.1. 4.3.2,
    • Service-based SLA (SD
    • Multi-level SLAs (SD, Fig. 4.7)
    • Service level requirements (SLRs) (SD
    • SLA monitoring (SLAM) chart (SD, CSI Fig. 4.4)
    • Service review (SD
    • Service improvement plan (SIP) (SD
    • The relationship between SLM and BRM (SD
  • State the purpose, objectives, and scope for:
    • Service Catalog Management (SD 4.2.1, 4.2.2)
    • Availability Management (SD 4.4.1, 4.4.2)
      • Service availability (SD
      • Component availability (SD
      • Reliability (SD
      • Maintainability (SD
      • Serviceability (SD
      • Vital business functions (VBF) (SD
    • Information Security Management (ISM) (SD 4.7.1, 4.7.2)
      • Information security policy (SD
    • Supplier Management (SD 4.8.1, 4.8.2)
      • Supplier categories (SD, Fig. 4.28)
    • Capacity Management (SD 4.5.1, 4.5.2)
      • Capacity plan (SD
      • Business capacity management (SD
      • Service capacity management (SD


Course ID: MS55011

Show Schedule for 1 Month  3 Months  All 
Date Country Location Register